Avon Association of Drama

 Home Page Prompt Festivals Summer Productions Member Groups News Contacts Diary

List of Current Productions by Local Groups



The Prompt Magazine is no longer being published,

but if you wish to have your next production advertised here,

please send your flyer as a .jpg image to...      raybulmer@blueyonder.co.uk






Following last year’s success when they went to the British Final, The Bristol Festival was won by St Alban’s Players ( who also won Best Director, Best Actor, Best Decor and Best Youth Performance) and go forward to the Wessex Division Quarter Final at Burnham-on-Sea.

Portishead Young Players were the winning youth team with ‘Happily Ever After ...?’ and go forward to the Five Counties Youth Drama Festival at The Olympus Theatre on 29th April.

Full Results

1st Place Trophy -  St Alban’s Players
2nd Place Trophy – Oldland Players
3rd Place Trophy – Sodbury Players
Chris Jaeger Award for Best Director – Wendy Withers (St Alban’s Players)
Best Actor – David Evans (St Alban’s Players)
Best Actress – Lisa Stapleton (Oldland Players)
Best Supporting Actor – Paul MacLeod (UWE Drama Society)
KP Badges & Trophies Best Moment of Theatre award – Portishead Young Players
Les Solomon Décor Award – St Alban’s Players
Jim English Costume Award – Oldland Players
Caroline Phillips Award (Winning Youth Group) – Portishead Young Players
Dawn Barrah Award (Most Promising Youth Performance) – Siena Jackson-Wolfe (St Alban’s Players)
Joan Pickthall Award (Best Original Play) – ‘36’ by Rite Jenkins (UWE Drama Society)
Charles Cash Award Trophy (Adjudicator’s Choice) – Josh Moore (Your Call Theatre Group)




Backwell Playhouse




‘The Donahue Sisters’

A One Act Play by Geraldine Aron

Performed by Backwell Playhouse Theatre Company


PLUS ‘Some Enchanted Evening’

Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II are regarded as one of musical theatre’s most influential, innovative and successful writing teams.  Their string of hit shows ushered in Broadway’s Golden Age of Musicals, and they are celebrated by the Playhouse with a concert performance of some of their best songs.


Thursday 28th – Saturday 30th September 2017 @ 8.00pm

Venue: Backwell Playhouse

Tickets: £11 (£8 members)

Box Office: Alan/Ruth 01275 462621 & John 0117 963 3586

Online: www.BackwellPlayhouse.co.uk

Non-Members Tickets only, subject to booking fee.


‘The Donahue Sisters’ Synopsis:

Three sharp-tongued Irish sisters with a very dark secret reunite in the playroom of their childhood home because of their father’s ailing health. Geraldine Aron’s one-act play is a bitter, disturbing and darkly funny story of sibling rivalry and sisterly love.

"One for all and all for one, the Donahue sisters stick together."



‘Mother Goose’ – Laying January 2018 – A Grand Family Pantomime

Performed by Backwell Playhouse Theatre Company

Featuring AliCaT Children and Theatre

Tickets available soon!